HomeFootballKerry recall Jason Foley and name Shane Murphy in goal to face...

Kerry recall Jason Foley and name Shane Murphy in goal to face Clare in Sunday’s Munster football final


Related stories


The Kerry management have made four changes to the team that started against Cork in the semi-final to begin against Clare in Ennis

With Foley recovered from the ankle injury that sidelined him for Kerry’s previous two games, it comes as little surprise that the Ballydonoghue man has been named at full back, with Jack O’Connor doubtless keen to get match minutes into the no.3 with the All-Ireland Group Phase just two weeks ago.

It is somewhat more unexpected that Ryan has been dropped from goalkeeping duties, with Shane Murphy coming in for his first start of the season, although it probably makes sense to give the Dr Crokes man time between the posts in a game Kerry will be expected to win.

Kerry have made two other changes to the team that started against Cork a fortnight ago, with Brian Ó Beaglaoich coming into the defence, and Tony Brosnan named at corner forward.

In a defensive reshuffle Tadhg Morley is moved back to his customary centre half back posting to accommodate Foley at full back, with Graham O’Sullivan and Sean O’Brien dropping out of the half back line.

In the attack Brosnan comes into to replace Adrian Spillane with Dara Moynihan moving out to Spillane’s place at wing forward, and David Clifford and Sean O’Shea shuffling across in the full forward line to accommodate Brosnan in the right corner.

With Foley and Ó Beaglaoich restored to the match day squad, Graham O’Sullivan and Ronan Buckley are the two players who drop out of the 26 for Sunday’s game.

Kerry team to play Clare

1. Shane Murphy (Dr Crokes)

2. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)

3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)

4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

5. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)

6. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)

7. Gavin White (Dr Crokes)

8. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)

9. Joe O’Connor (Austin Stacks)

10. Dara Moynihan (Spa)

11. Paudie Clifford (Fossa)

12. Cillian Burke (Milltown/Castlemaine)

13. Tony Brosnan (Dr Crokes)

14. David Clifford (Fossa)

15. Seán O’Shea (Kenmare Shamrocks)


16. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

17. Seán O’Brien (Beaufort)

18. Adrian Spillane (Templenoe)

19. Barry Dan O’Sullivan (Dingle)

20. Dylan Casey (Austin Stacks)

21. Paul Geaney (Dingle)

22. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare Shamrocks)

23. Mike Breen (Beaufort)

24. Killian Spillane (Templenoe)

25. Darragh Roche (Glenflesk)

26. Armin Heinrich (Austin Stacks

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories