HomeFootballBoost for Kerry as Jason Foley is named in Munster final team...

Boost for Kerry as Jason Foley is named in Munster final team to face Clare


Related stories


Jason Foley suffered an ankle injury against Roscommon in the National League.

Jason Foley is back in the Kerry team in one of four changes manager Jack O’Connor has made for the trip to Ennis to face Clare in this weekend’s Munster final.

Full back Foley had been sidelined with an nasty-looking ankle injury sustained in the league match against Roscommon but he has been restored to the number three shirt.

There’s also a surprise change between the posts where Shane Murphy is named. Brian O Beaglaoich comes into the defence while Tony Brosnan starts at corner forward.

Graham O’Sullivan and Sean O’Brien drop out of the side, as do Adrian Spillane and regular number one Shane Ryan. The likes of Paul Geaney and Stephen O’Brien have to make do with a place on the bench.

History says Clare are up against it this weekend. Their last championship win over Kerry came in the famous Munster final of 1992. Before that they hadn’t beaten the Kingdom since 1949.

Kerry (SFC v Clare): S Murphy; P Murphy, J Foley, T O’Sullivan; B O Beaglaoich, T Morley, G White; D O’Connor, J O’Connor; D Moynihan, P Clifford, C Burke; T Brosnan, D Clifford, S O’Shea.

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories