HomeSportsWomen's T20 World Cup: Scotland qualify for first time after eliminating Ireland...

Women’s T20 World Cup: Scotland qualify for first time after eliminating Ireland in battle for place at 2024 edition


Related stories

Roscommon v Mayo : Preview, Stats, Teams, Live Scores & Betting

Group 2: Roscommon v Mayo – GAA Championship Showdown Match Preview The...

Irish golf prodigy Tom McKibbin ready for tough test as he defends Open crown

TOM MCKIBBIN hopes a defense of his European Open...

Westmeath v Galway : Preview, Stats, Teams, Live Score & Betting

Group 1: Westmeath v Galway – GAA Championship Clash Match...

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: SWOT Analysis Of Team Ireland

The Irish cricket team shows a mix of promise...

Ladies Gaelic Football Association unveils 50th anniversary commemorative jersey – Ladies Gaelic Football THE Ladies Gaelic Football Association is delighted to unveil...

Scotland have qualified for the Women’s T20 World Cup for the first time after beating Ireland in the battle for a spot at the tournament proper in Bangladesh this October.

The top two sides in the qualifying competition in the UAE reach the 10-team main event in the autumn, joining England, Australia, India, Pakistan, South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies and Bangladesh.

Scotland snatched the first of those remaining spots – Sri Lanka saw off UAE to claim the other – after defeating Ireland by eight wickets in the semi-finals thanks to a superb all-round display from skipper Kathryn Bryce.

Bryce took 4-8 from four overs, including the wickets of Amy Hunter and Gaby Lewis for ducks in the first over of the game and opposing captain Laura Delany for two in the fifth, as Ireland slumped to 47-6 before Leah Paul (45) and Arlene Kelly (45) propelled their side to 110-9 with a stand of 60.

But that total proved insufficient as Bryce struck an unbeaten 35 from 29 balls after opener Megan McColl had hit 50 from 47, with Scotland reaching their target in 16.2 overs to qualify for their first World Cup in either the 20-over or 50-over format.

Scotland captain Kathryn Bryce took 4-8 and then scored an unbeaten 35 as her side beat Ireland to qualify for their first Women’s T20 World Cup

Ireland, who won each of their four matches in the group stage, have missed out on a fifth appearance at the T20 World Cup.

The main tournament begins on October 3 with England taking on South Africa in the opening match before hosts Bangladesh tackle one of the qualifiers later the same day.

The entire competition will be broadcast live on Sky Sports as Australia look to claim the title for the third time in a row and England target a first victory since the inaugural edition in 2009.

Women’s T20 World Cup groups

  • Group A: Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Qualifier 1
  • Group B: South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Qualifier 2

How to book Fury vs Usyk on Sky Sports Box Office

It’s one of the biggest sporting events in a generation. Tyson Fury and Oleksandr Usyk collide for the undisputed world heavyweight championship on Saturday May 18, live on Sky Sports Box Office. Book the fight now.

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories