HomeSportsSouth Africa v Ireland date, time, squads, venue and coverage

South Africa v Ireland date, time, squads, venue and coverage


Related stories

Number of Irish job vacancies stabilised in second quarter

This was the first time quarterly vacancies have not...

Dermot Kennedy concerts help boost Thomond Park revenues to €1.56m

The stadium hosted three Dermot Kennedy gigs last July...

Through Irish Eyes on road to Flemington Cup

Image: Bruno Cannatelli Through Irish...

Both teams are missing key players for this battle of the hemispheres.

Ireland will be without a number of crucial players, with the backline taking a big hit. Full-back Hugo Keenan is preparing for the Olympics with the Ireland sevens team while Jamison Gibson-Park and Mack Hansen – who scored a try against South Africa in last year’s World Cup – are injured.

The pack will also be missing some seasoned campaigners. British and Irish Lions number eight Jack Conan is unavailable because of personal reasons, while Ulster captain Iain Henderson is injured.

Sam Prendergast, Jamie Osborne and Cormac Izuchukwu are the uncapped players in Andy Farrell’s travelling party.

South Africa head coach Rassie Erasmus is not without his injury issues too. Wings Edwill van der Merwe and Makazole Mapimpi and utility back Canan Moodie will miss the first Test.

Prop Steven Kitshoff – who recently ended a short stint at Ulster – locks Jean Kleyn and Lood de Jager, and Damian Willemse are also missing.

South Africa squad:

Forwards: Phepsi Buthelezi, Ben-Jason Dixon, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Thomas du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Johan Grobbelaar, Vincent Koch, Siya Kolisi (capt), Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Bongi Mbonambi, Salmaan Moerat, Franco Mostert, Ox Nche, Trevor Nyakane, Evan Roos, Kwagga Smith, RG Snyman, Gerhard Steenekamp, Marco van Staden, Jan-Hendrik Wessels, Jasper Wiese.

Backs: Lukhanyo Am, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Damian de Allende, Faf de Klerk, Andre Esterhuizen, Aphelele Fassi, Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, Cheslin Kolbe, Jesse Kriel, Wilie le Roux, Manie Libbok, Makazole Mapimpi, Handre Pollard, Cobus Reinach, Morne van den Berg, Edwill van der Merwe, Grant Williams.

Ireland squad:

Forwards: Ryan Baird, Finlay Bealham, Tadhg Beirne, Caelan Doris, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Rob Herring, Cormac Izuchukwu, Oli Jager, Ronan Kelleher, Joe McCarthy, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Tom O’Toole, Andrew Porter, Cian Prendergast, James Ryan, Dan Sheehan, Nick Timoney, Josh van der Flier.

Backs: Bundee Aki, Caolin Blade, Craig Casey, Jack Crowley, Ciaran Frawley, Robbie Henshaw, Jordan Larmour, James Lowe, Stuart McCloskey, Conor Murray, Calvin Nash, Jimmy O’Brien, Jamie Osborne, Sam Prendergast, Garry Ringrose, Jacob Stockdale (Ulster).

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories