HomeFootballSeedings made for Sam Maguire and Tailteann Cup ahead of draw

Seedings made for Sam Maguire and Tailteann Cup ahead of draw


Related stories


Kildare will play in the Tailteann Cup for the first time after their Leinster semi-final loss to Louth sealed their fate, having been relegated from Division 2 of the league last month.

Louth’s win also preserves Westmeath’s Sam Maguire Cup status, earned on the back of their Division 3 final win over Down.

Louth will be first or second seeds for the second year running, along with the other seven provincial finalists, Dublin, Kerry, Clare, Mayo, Galway, Armagh and Donegal, who had an extra-time win over Tyrone in the second Ulster semi-final.

Westmeath will be joined as fourth seeds by Cavan, Cork and Meath. Meath had the protection of their 2023 Tailteann Cup win but made it anyway with a fifth-place finish in Division 2.

Cavan won’t have their chief scorer Patrick Lynch for the rest of the championship after he sustained a cruciate ligament injury.

Kildare will be the first seeds in the Tailteann Cup, along with Down, Fermanagh and Sligo.

The promoted teams from Division 4, Laois and Leitrim, will be second seeds along with Antrim and Offaly.

Courtesy of their win over Carlow in their regulation Division 4 game, Longford will be the third seeds in the Tailteann Cup along with Wexford and the relegated Division 3 teams Wicklow and Limerick.

Sam Maguire Cup draw

Seeds 1/2: Kerry, Clare, Galway, Mayo, Armagh, Donegal, Dublin, Louth

Seeds 3: Derry, Tyrone, Roscommon, Monaghan

Seeds 4: Cavan, Cork, Meath, Westmeath

Tailteann Cup draw

Seed 1: Down, Kildare, Fermanagh, Sligo

Seed 2: Antrim, Offaly, Laois, Leitrim

Seed 3: Wicklow, Limerick, Wexford, Longford

Seed 4: Carlow, Tipperary, Waterford, London

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories