HomeGolfSchoolboy Tiernan swaps books for birdies and grabs Flogas Irish Amateur Open...

Schoolboy Tiernan swaps books for birdies and grabs Flogas Irish Amateur Open lead – News – Irish Golf Desk


Related stories


“I haven’t been playing too much recently so trying to stay patient with it. Nice to shoot a good score today.”
Tiernan is getting ready to sit the Leaving Cert, but he isn’t neglecting his studies in Rosses Point.

“Leaving Cert now in a few weeks, so I brought the books with me and it’s back to study now,” said the Baltray talent, who is getting ready to head to East Tennessee State University on a golf scholarship in August.

Scottish raiders Conor Graham and Gregor Tait were in a six-man group on two-under alongside Carton House’s West of Ireland champion Keith Egan, Grange’s Jake Whelan, Royal Dublin’s Jack McDonnell and the Czech David Tomi.

However, the presence of Nolan and McClean near the top of the leaderboard is an ominous one.

“I’m absolutely delighted,” said Nolan. “I’ve been away for a little while. I knew I was playing some good golf, but it’s hard to know how it’s going to translate from the range and practising on the course to a massive championship, so I knew fairly early on that my swing was good, and I was able to roll in a few putts.”

Roganstown star Sean Keeling (17) turned in two over after a double bogey at the short ninth but rallied with three birdies to start the back nine and posted a 70 that left him tied 14th on a day when just 22 players in the 138-strong field took advantage of ideal conditions to break par.

The leading 50 and ties after three rounds will qualify for Sunday’s final round with the winner (and the leading Irish player should an overseas player triumph), receiving an invitation to play in the Challenge Tour’s Irish Challenge at The K Club this summer.

Flogas Irish Men’s Amateur Open Championship, Co Sligo GC (Par 71)

Round 1

Detailed scores

65 Gavin Tiernan (Co Louth);

66 Liam Nolan (Galway), Matthew McClean (Malone);

67 Joe O’Neill (Berehaven);

68 Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint), TJ Ford (Co Sligo), Ruairi O’Connor (Co Sligo);

69 Gregor Graham (Sco), David Tomi (Cze), Keith Egan (Carton House), Gregor Tait (Sco), Jake Whelan (Grange), Jack McDonnell (Royal Dublin);

70 Graham Donohoe (Enniscorthy), Hugh Foley (Royal Dublin), Adam Smith (Mullingar), Luke Kelly (Dunfanaghy), David Howard (Fota Island), Sean Keeling (Roganstown), Max Weaver (Wal), Sam Mukherjee (Sco), David Kitt (Athenry);

71 Fionn Dobbin (Malone), Morgan Cain (Cork), Tom Matthews (Wal), Jamie Butler (Naas), Ryan Griffin (Ballybofey), Benjamin Oberholzer (Clandeboye), Gary Collins (Rosslare), Mark Doogue (Castleknock), Frederik Dortmans (Eng), Alyx Murray (Sco), Aaron Marshall (Lisburn);

72 Harry Gillivan (Portmarnock), Julius Sommer (SUI), Edward Reed (Eng), Paul O’Hanlon (Carton House), Colm Hughes (Castle), Jack Hearn (Tramore), Shane McDermott (Slieve Russell);

73 Jake Foley (Elm Park), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk), Paul Coughlan (Castleknock), Dominic McGlinchey (Sco), James Hewitt (Tandragee), Andrew Benson (Sco), James Stenson (The Island), Sean Reddy (Douglas), Michael Roche (Eng), David Brady (Straffan), Cian O’Connor (Roscommon), David Reddan (Nenagh), Darryl Gwilliam (Eng), Thomas Abom (Edmondstown), Shea Dorman (Bangor), Seán McLoughlin (Co Sligo), Paraic Connolly (The Links Portmarnock), Sean Cooper (Enniscorthy), Scott Spark (Sco), Oscar Murphy (Royal Portrush), Charlie Smyth (PGA National Slieve Russell), Matthew Wilson (Sco), Quentin Carew (Castleknock), Adam Allahbachani (Powerscourt), Richard Knightly (Royal Dublin), Scott Mann (Sco), Jacob Kelso (Eng);

74 Brodie Cunningham (Sco), James Temple (Portmarnock), James Fox (Portmarnock), Simon Walker (Roscommon), Ross McCormack (Palmerstown House Estate), Robbie Cannon (Balbriggan), Sean Flanagan (Portmarnock), Darragh Flynn (Carton House), Ross Laird (Sco), Ryan Williams (Wal), Aodhagan Brady (Co Sligo), Ben Best (Rathmore), Dwayne Mallon (Dungannon), Sean Murphy (Grange), Rory Gallagher (Galway Bay), Daniel Bennett (RSA), Oliver Mukherjee (Sco), Theo Baker (Wal);

75 Simon Austin (AUT), Eoin Murphy (Dundalk), Jake Adler (Nenagh), Adam Buchanan (Royal Portrush), Allan Hill (Roscommon), Christian Johnson (Eng), Jonathan Keane (Lahinch), Lorcan O’Connor (Edmondstown), Ross Nelson (Belvoir Park), Miles Gray (Eng), Andrew Mulholland (Castlerock), Marc McKinstry (Cairndhu), Cian Harkin (Letterkenny), Adam Scott (Scot), Seamus Cullen (Slieve Russell), Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas);

76 Liam Abom (Edmondstown), Robert Galligan (Elm Park), Aidan Dooley (Carton House), Ryan McNelis (Fintona), Conor Hickey (Dooks), Gordon Sillett (Ballykisteen);

77 Lewis Gowdy (Bangor), Mark Gazi (Tralee), Jordan Boles (Charleville), Caolan Burford (Wal), Alexander Farmer (Sco), Samuel Gammell (Naas), Ross Latimer (Clandeboye), Dylan Kayne (RSA),l

78 Lucas McKeen (Co Louth), Paul Carey (Nenagh), Marc Norton (Belvoir Park), Edward Rowe (Belvoir Park), David Marshall (Naas), Rory McConnell (Belvoir Park), Mark Cadden (Roganstown), John Doyle (Fota Island);

79 Robert Walsh (Douglas), Donnacha Cleary (Tipperary), Kevin Robinson (Castlewarden), Evan Farrell (Co Louth), Eoin Sullivan (Portmarnock), Colin Smith (Co Sligo), Finn Coull (Sco);

80 Conor Stapleton (Connemara);

81 Sean David (Wal), Alex Jaap (Wal), Dean O’Riordan (Fermoy);

82 John Tandberg (SUI), Aaron Foley (Edmondstown);

83 Robbie Hynes (Royal Dublin);

90 Luke Harris (Hermitage).

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories