HomeCricketPakistan and Ireland go toe-to-toe in inaugural T20I series today

Pakistan and Ireland go toe-to-toe in inaugural T20I series today


Related stories

Roscommon v Mayo : Preview, Stats, Teams, Live Scores & Betting

Group 2: Roscommon v Mayo – GAA Championship Showdown Match Preview The...

Irish golf prodigy Tom McKibbin ready for tough test as he defends Open crown

TOM MCKIBBIN hopes a defense of his European Open...

Westmeath v Galway : Preview, Stats, Teams, Live Score & Betting

Group 1: Westmeath v Galway – GAA Championship Clash Match...

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: SWOT Analysis Of Team Ireland

The Irish cricket team shows a mix of promise...

Ladies Gaelic Football Association unveils 50th anniversary commemorative jersey – Ladies Gaelic Football

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YAlH5FsrCbo THE Ladies Gaelic Football Association is delighted to unveil...

ISLAMABAD: Left-arm fast bowler Mohammad Amir has received his travel visa but won’t make it in time to play the first T20I match against Ireland on Friday, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has confirmed. 

Amir did not travel to Ireland with Pakistan’s squad this week due to visa delay issues. Pakistan will play a three-match T20I series against the Irish side from May 10-14 in Dublin before departing for the UK where they will play against England in a four-match T20I series. 

“Fast bowler Mohammad Amir will miss the first T20I due to delays in the issuance of his visa,” the PCB said in a statement on Thursday. “He is expected to join the side on Friday.”

Amir, 32, came out of international retirement last month for the home series against New Zealand, drawn 2-2. The pacer is eyeing a spot in the 15-man squad for next month’s T20 World Cup in the Caribbean and the United States.

The three-match series in Dublin is also World Cup preparation as both teams are in the same group alongside India, US and Canada.

Amir will bolster Pakistan’s pace battery which comprises the likes of Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Haris Rauf. 


Ireland: Paul Stirling (captain), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir (unavailable for first T20I), Mohammad Rizwan, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Usman Khan.

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories