HomeFootballOdhran Murdock scores from the spot as Down surpass London with ease

Odhran Murdock scores from the spot as Down surpass London with ease


Related stories

Michael McGrath tells Dáil that bank windfall taxes could lead to price increases

AIB made €2.39bn profit last year. BoI made €1.94bn....

Maguire relishing Irish feel as she defends Meijer Classic title – Irish Golfer Magazine

Leona Maguire believes Blythefield Country Club has similar characteristics...

Fresh on the momentum of an opening day win away to Offaly, London didn’t waste much time looking to set the pace. After some good build-up play and movement, they were the first to register a score, thanks to the boot of Ciaran Diver in the third minute.

The fast start to the game continued when Down hit back straight away, thanks to Daniel Guinness. London native Shay Rafter would briefly put the Exiles back in front.

Down then hit a purple patch where they kicked four scores without reply, a period which saw Patrick Havern point a score from play and a free as Down moved into a lead of three, which added to London woes after Fiontan Eastwood was subbed due to injury just 12 minutes in.

Despite a brief London resurgence, thanks to the efforts of Driver and Ruari Rafferty, it was Down who headed into the break three to the good.

After the restart, the Ulster men began to dictate and were allowed freedom and space and were able to race ahead. This culminated with Odhran Murdock putting Down 1-14 to 0-6 ahead from the penalty spot.

London could only register four scores in the second set of 35 minutes thanks to Rafter, Josh Obahor, Driver, and substitute Tighe Barry.

Well-worked scores from Guinness, Havern and Miceal Rooney were highlights as Down laid down a marker in their quest for silverware this summer.

Down: John O’Hare; Peter Fegan, Ryan McEvoy (0-1), Paddy McCarthy; Ryan Magill (0-1), Pierce Laverty (Captain), Shealan Johnston; Daniel Guinness (0-6), Odhran Murdock (1-1); Miceal Rooney (0-5), Shane Annett, John McGovern; James Guinness, Patrick Havern (0-6,0-3f), Gareth McKibben (0-1)

Down Substitutes: Danny McGill (0-2) for Shane Arnett (30’), Oisin Savage for Gareth McKibben (H/T), Eamonn Brown for James Guinness (53’), Conor McCrickard (0-1) for Shealan Johnston (55’), Jonny Flynn for Patrick Havern (64’)

London: Andrew Walsh; Eoin Walsh (Captain), Cahir Healy, Ciaran McKeon; Oran Kerr, Liam Gallagher, Aidan McLoughlin; Michael Carroll, Joshua Obahor (0-1); Stephen Dornan, Daniel Clarke, Ciaran Diver (0-5, 0-3f); Ruairi Rafferty (0-1), Shay Rafter (0-2,0-2f), Fiontan Eastwood

London Substitutes: Nathan McElwaine for Fiontan Eastwood (12’), DJ O’Flaherty for Michael Carroll (22’), Joseph McGill for Daniel Clarke (52’), Tighe Barry (0-1) for Liam Gallagher (59’), Michael Miller for Aidan McLoughlin (59’)

Referee: Barry Tiernan (Dublin)

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories