HomeFootballMcNicholl’s late point sees Derry through

McNicholl’s late point sees Derry through


Related stories


By James O’Donnell

Derry advanced to an Ulster U-20 football final showdown with Tyrone thanks to a late winner from Ryan McNicholl at Ballybofey on Wednesday night.

Donegal were three ahead at the break but Ruairi Forbes and McNicholl drove Derry forward with Oisin Doherty’s 33rd minute goal turning the game.

Donegal where three points ahead before Derry scored with McGlynn, Conor Reid and Conor McGinley on target.

The home side should also have added a goal when McGlynn stormed through but with James Murray chasing back it was enough to pressure him into a shot to the ‘keeper.

Derry’s first score from Patrick McGurk came from distance but Donegal always had a response.

Marks from Patrick McElwee and Karl Joseph Molloy were the difference in the opening half.

Donegal were able to find the pockets of space their defence didn’t leave at the other end.

McGlynn hit a score from an acute angle early in the second half before Derry hit the net.

Doherty jinked through the Donegal cover before hammering to the net to make the score 0-8 to 1-4.

Both sides traded scores with Forbes (2) and substitute McNicholl on target for a totally revived Derry.

Ciaran Chambers and McNicholl failed to take two goal chances when Derry were on top.

Donegal made a triple substitute in a bid to freshen up the game.

McMenamin, McGlynn and Lynch were all on target to level the game before Derry’s dramatic winner.

Scorers – Derry: O Doherty 1-2 (2f), R Forbes 0-3, R McNicholl 0-2, C Chambers, E Higgins (f), C Spiers, C Heron and P McGurk 0-1 each.

Donegal: L McGlynn 0-4 (2f), S Martin, C Reid, S Ward (45), K Magee, S Carr, K Lynch, C McMenamin, P McElwee (m), KJ Molloy (m) and C McGinty 0-1 each

Derry: C Armstrong; F McEldowney, J Murray, R Small; C McGrogan, P McGurk, C Heron; T Rogers, D McDermott; R Forbes, C Spiers, N O’Donnell; J McGuckian, E Higgins, O Doherty. Subs: C Chambers for Higgins (HT), R McNicholl for Rogers (HT).

Donegal: D McGowan; C McCrea, F Roarty; K Magee; F Coll, O Caulfield, S Martin; C Reid, E Kelly; S Ward, C McGinty, L McGlynn; S Carr, P McElwee, KJ Molloy. Subs: N Prendiville for Ward (50), C McMenamin for Reid (57), K Lynch for Molloy (57), D Gallagher for Kelly (57), L McGee for Carr (63)

Referee: E Mallon (Armagh)

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories