HomeCricketIreland announces squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Ireland announces squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024


Related stories


Cricket Ireland have named their 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, to be held in the West Indies and USA.

Paul Stirling to lead Ireland in T20 World Cup 2024

Veteran opener Paul Stirling will lead the Irish contingent as they look to make a mark in the marquee tournament.

The squad boasts a blend of experience and youthful exuberance. Stirling, a proven performer in the shortest format, will bring stability at the top of the order. He’ll be ably supported by established names like Andrew Balbirnie, a dependable batsman, and George Dockrell, a wily spin bowler.

Exciting young talents like Harry Tector, a hard-hitting batsman, and fast bowler Craig Young have also earned their call-ups. Their energy and fearless approach could be crucial for Ireland’s success.

Ireland have been placed in Group A alongside powerhouses like India and Pakistan. However, the team is known for its fighting spirit and ability to pull off upsets. With a determined leader in Stirling and a well-rounded squad, Ireland will be hoping to cause some surprises in the tournament.

Also READ: Scotland announces squad for T20 World Cup 2024; Michael Jones and Brad Wheal return

Ireland have featured in all the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup since 2009, making it to the Super 12 stage in the 2022 edition.

Ireland squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Paul Stirling (captain), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young

Also READ: Here’s why Pakistan haven’t unveiled their T20 World Cup 2024 squad

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories