HomeSportsGalway v Mayo - Preview, Team News, Stats and Tickets

Galway v Mayo – Preview, Team News, Stats and Tickets


Related stories

Roscommon v Mayo : Preview, Stats, Teams, Live Scores & Betting

Group 2: Roscommon v Mayo – GAA Championship Showdown Match Preview The...

Irish golf prodigy Tom McKibbin ready for tough test as he defends Open crown

TOM MCKIBBIN hopes a defense of his European Open...

Westmeath v Galway : Preview, Stats, Teams, Live Score & Betting

Group 1: Westmeath v Galway – GAA Championship Clash Match...

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: SWOT Analysis Of Team Ireland

The Irish cricket team shows a mix of promise...

Ladies Gaelic Football Association unveils 50th anniversary commemorative jersey – Ladies Gaelic Football THE Ladies Gaelic Football Association is delighted to unveil...

Intense Rivalry Continues: Mayo and Galway Meet for 12th Consecutive Year in Championship

Click here to buy tickets for Galway v Mayo

The great Western rivals, Mayo and Galway, are set to face off for the 12th consecutive year in the championship, marking one of the most competitive rivalries in football. Of the previous 11 meetings, nine took place in the Connacht Championship, with two in the 2019 All-Ireland qualifiers and last year’s All-Ireland preliminary quarter-final. Other than the 2021 Connacht final, which Mayo won by six points, the games since 2016 have all been closely contested, with margins of victory ranging from 1 to 3 points.

Recent Championship Meetings

In the last ten championship meetings, Mayo holds a 6-4 edge over Galway:

– **2023:** Mayo 1-10, Galway 0-12 (All-Ireland preliminary quarter-final)
– **2022:** Galway 1-14, Mayo 0-16 (Connacht quarter-final)
– **2021:** Mayo 2-14, Galway 2-8 (Connacht final)
– **2020:** Mayo 0-14, Galway 0-13 (Connacht final)
– **2019:** Mayo 2-13, Galway 1-13 (Qualifier Round 4)

Connacht Finals Overview

In the last five Connacht final meetings:

– **2021:** Mayo 2-14, Galway 2-8
– **2020:** Mayo 0-14, Galway 0-13
– **2014:** Mayo 3-14, Galway 0-16
– **2009:** Mayo 2-12, Galway 1-14
– **2008:** Galway 2-12, Mayo 1-14

Mayo’s dominance is evident in the recent Connacht finals, winning the last four meetings against Galway in 2021, 2020, 2014, and 2009.

Historical Championship Games

This upcoming match marks the 94th championship game between Mayo and Galway, with Mayo leading with 45 wins, followed closely by Galway’s 42 wins. The two teams have drawn 6 times.

Home Advantage

Interestingly, home advantage hasn’t been significant in this rivalry recently. Galway managed to win championship games against Mayo in Castlebar in 2022, 2018, and 2016, while Mayo secured victories in Pearse Stadium in 2013, 2015, 2020, and 2023. Galway’s last championship win over Mayo in Pearse Stadium was in 2017.

Managerial Experience

Galway’s manager, Padraic Joyce, played 11 championship games against Mayo between 1998 and 2011, winning six and losing five. Mayo’s manager, Kevin McStay, played five championship games against Galway between 1983 and 1990, winning one, drawing one, and losing three.

Galway v Mayo – Preview, Team News, Stats and Tickets

Road to the Final

Mayo’s journey to the final includes victories over New York (2-21 to 0-6) and Roscommon (1-15 to 0-13). Meanwhile, Galway reached the final after defeating London (5-21 to 0-9) and Sligo (1-13 to 0-14).

Team News for Galway v Mayo 

Here’s a nicer, more SEO-friendly list of the Connacht GAA Football Senior Championship team players, organized by team and jersey numbers:

Connacht GAA Football Senior Championship – Galway Team:

1. **Connor Gleeson**
2. **Johnny McGrath**
3. **Seán Fitzgerald**
4. **Jack Glynn**
5. **Dylan McHugh**
6. **John Daly**
7. **Liam Silke**
8. **Paul Conroy**
9. **Seán Kelly**
10. **Johnny Heaney**
11. **John Maher**
12. **Cein Darcy**
13. **Robert Finnerty**
14. **Damien Comer**
15. **Shane Walsh**
16. **Conor Flaherty**
17. **Séan Mulkerrin**
18. **Eoin Kelly**
19. **Daniel Ó Flaherty**
20. **Jack McCabe**
21. **Cathal Sweeney**
22. **Kieran Molloy**
23. **Liam Ó Conghaile**
24. **Cillian Ó Curraoin**
25. **Matthew Tierney**
26. **Sam Ó Neill**

Connacht GAA Football Senior Championship – Mayo Team:

1. **Colm Reape**
2. **Jack Coyne**
3. **Rory Brickenden**
4. **Sam Callinan**
5. **Paddy Durcan**
6. **David McBrien**
7. **Donnacha McHugh**
8. **Stephen Coen**
9. **Matthew Ruane**
10. **Jordan Flynn**
11. **Fergal Boland**
12. **Jack Carney**
13. **Aidan O’Shea**
14. **Tommy Conroy**
15. **Ryan O’Donoghue**
16. **Rob Hennelly**
17. **Enda Hession**
18. **Conor Loftus**
19. **Darren McHale**
20. **Eoghan McLaughlin**
21. **Cillian O’Connor**
22. **Diarmuid O’Connor**
23. **Pádraig O’Hora**
24. **Kevin Quinn**
25. **Paul Towey**
26. **Bob Tuohy**

LiveScores Now Available at

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories