HomeFootballEarly McHale goal sets the tone as Mayo young guns prove too...

Early McHale goal sets the tone as Mayo young guns prove too strong for Galway


Related stories


MAYO 2-13

Mayo minor manager David Heaney

The outcome was never in any doubt as Mayo cruised to a comfortable victory in the third round of the Connacht MFC at Tuam Stadium. A first-half goal from Harry McHale helped the winners to a half-time lead of nine points and a second goal from Oisin Deane killed off any chance of a Galway comeback. Mayo, who are managed by former county stars Tom Reilly and David Heaney and coached by Ciaran McDonald, took control of this one-sided contest from the early stages. Points from David Hurley, man of the match Evan Walsh (free), Conor Moriarty and Kobe McDonald left them 0-4 to 0-1 ahead after eight minutes. Four minutes later, McHale finished a flowing move to the Galway net. The home side’s only scores of the opening half came from Charlie Killeen and Killian Joyce while Mayo increased their lead with further points from Walsh (3) and McHale in the second quarter. They led by 1-8 to 0-2 at the break. Galway manager Neil McHugh made some changes at the interval and a goal from Charlie Killeen just 30 seconds after the restart gave hope that it might spark a revival. But Mayo hit back five minutes later with a goal of their own from Deane and they kept Galway at a safe distance all the way to the finish. This was Mayo’s second successive win, while Galway are still looking for their first victory. Mayo: N Roddy; C Coghill, T Hession, D Butler; D Hurley (0-1), M Noonan, C Kavanagh; J Moyles, O Loughney; H McHale (1-2), K McDonald (0-3, 1f), D Flynn (0-1); E Walsh (0-5, 1f), C Moriarty (0-1, mark), O Deane (1-0). Subs: A Quinn for Moriarty; B Langan for Kavanagh; F Ó Cinnsela for McHale; J O’Malley for Hurley; C Beale for Coghill. Galway: J King; S Martyn, D Hughes, E Forde; D Naughton, T Proulx, C Rafferty; R McGrath (0-1), M Leahy; B O’Malley, K Joyce (0-3, 1f), C Killeen (1-1); S Costello, L Dempsey, F Ó Braonáin. Subs: A Burke for Leahy; S Rabbit for Naughton; E Ó Cualáin for Costello; S O’Callaghan for Killeen; N De Paor (0-1, 1f) for O’Malley. Referee: R Hynes (Sligo)

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories