HomeFootballConor Love on the double as Fermanagh cruise past Wicklow

Conor Love on the double as Fermanagh cruise past Wicklow


Related stories


The home side had led by four at the interval, 0-8 to 0-4, and they went on to dominate matters in the second half to pull away.

Sean Cassidy’s palmed goal six minutes after the restart put the Ernemen eight points clear before substitute Conor Love made an impressive impact as he hit the net to ease Kieran Donnelly’s side to the victory.

There were also goal chances for the home side in the first half but they failed to convert any of these although points from Ultan Kelm, Sean Cassidy, Che Cullen and Fionan O’Brien put them into an early three-point lead.

Wicklow did respond with points from Oisin McGraynor and Eoin Darcy but with O’Brien, the influential Callum Jones, Johnny Cassidy and Joe McDade all registering scores, Fermanagh went in with a four-point cushion at the break.

And they controlled things from the outset in the second half as McDade and Garvan Jones landed points, before a slick move saw Callum Jones feed Sean Cassidy to palm to the net.

McGraynor and Padraig O’Toole did have scores for Wicklow but Fermanagh never looked in any danger and Callum Jones sent Love scurrying through as he blasted to the net with his first involvement in the game in the 56th minute.

Two minutes later Love had his second as he cut in and rifled to the corner and Fermanagh were comfortable through to the finish as they sealed a 15-point win.

Scorers – Fermanagh: C Love 2-0, S Cassidy 1-1, J Cassidy 0-2, F O’Brien 0-2, G Jones 0-2 (1f), J McDade 0-2, U Kelm (0-2 1’45), C Cullen 0-1, C Jones 0-1, J Largo Elis 0-1, C McShea 0-1, D King 0-1. Wicklow: O McGraynor 0-4 (3f), E Darcy 0-4 (2f), P O’Toole 0-1

Fermanagh: S McNally; L Cullen, C Cullen, J Cassidy; D McCusker, C Jones, J Largo-Elis; B Horan, J McDade; C McGee, C McShea, F O’Brien, U Kelm, G Jones, S Cassidy. Subs: S McGullion for McGee (25), C Love (2-00) for S Cassidy (55), D King (0-01) for C Jones (59), J McMahon for McCusker (61), R McCaffrey for J Cassidy (65).

Wicklow: S Doyle; T Moran, M S, M Kenny; M Nolan, C Baker, G Fogarty; D Healy, C Maguire; D Fee, O McGraynor, J Kirwan; J Carlin, G Murphy, J Paul Nolan. Sub: J Prendergast for Kirwan (10), E Darcy for Baker (18), P O’Toole for Murphy, E Murtagh for Fee (both 45), C Fee Kenny (50).

Referee: Barry Cassidy (Derry)

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories