HomeFootballClare claim emphatic victory over Waterford in Munster U20 hurling championship

Clare claim emphatic victory over Waterford in Munster U20 hurling championship


Related stories

Tailteann Cup: Down, Fermanagh and Antrim all win in tier-two championship

Daniel Guinness, all from play, and Pat Havern both...

Down ease to Tailteann Cup win over London

Tailteann Cup Group 4, round twoLondon 0-10 Down 1-24A...

Businessman Tony O’Reilly dies aged 88

Tony O’Reilly, one of Ireland’s leading business figures, has...

Having lost to Cork last time out, the Banner side needed victory to get back into a challenging position for progress from the round robin stage,

They did so in convincing fashion, limiting Waterford to few chances in this contest.

Ahead by seven points at half time, Clare dictated matters in the second-half hitting an unanswered 1-11, the goal coming from James Organ, before Waterford got in for a consolation goal from corner-back Conor Keane. in the third minute of added time.

A Michael Collins goal midway through the opening half gave Clare the lead for the first time and from here on they dictated matters.

In fact the visitors failed to score in the second quarter while the home side fired over six points to lead by seven at the mid-point.

That lead could have been greater as Clare were guilty of shooting nine wides in that opening half while Waterford conceded some silly frees which led to Clare scores

Clare win conclude their round robin programme of games with a trip to Thurles to play Tipperary next week.

Scorers – Clare: C Whelan (0-12, 9 f); J Organ (1-5); S Rynne (0-4); M Collins (1-0); N O’Farrell (0-2); J Hegarty, E Gunning, J Moylan, J O’Neill (0-1) each. Waterford: C Treen (0-6, f); C Keane (1-1), D Lalor, E Spellman, M Mahony J Power (0-1) each.

Clare: M Sheedy,; E Gunning, T Leyden, J Cahill; E Maxted, J Hegarty, J Moylan; R O’Connor, S Rynne; J Organ, N O’Farrell, R Kilroy; C Whelan, J O’Neill, M Collins. Subs: R Keane for T Leyden (inj 15); J Doherty for Kilroy (42); L Crotty for O’Neill (56|) Eoin McMahon for Maxted |(55); P O’Shea for O’Connor (59).

Waterford: C Troy; C Keane, D Lalor, M Burke; A O’Neill, B O’Connell, C Ryan; J O’Keeffe, F Hallinan; S Mackey, E Spellman, J Twomey; C Treen, M Mahony, M Morrissey. Subs: J Power for F Hallinan (28); C Tobin for Mackey (half-time) R Dobbyn for O’Keeffe(36); B Callaghan for Spellman (47).

Referee: Ciarán O’Regan (Cork).

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories