HomeFootballAntrim vs Carlow - Leinster Senior Hurling Championship

Antrim vs Carlow – Leinster Senior Hurling Championship


Related stories

PayPal to cut another 85 Irish jobs in plan to become ‘more productive’

Payments company PayPal is to cut another 85 jobs...

Louth v Cork: What time, what channel and all you need to know

The preliminary SFC quarter-finals take place this weekend and...

PayPal to cut 85 Irish jobs

PayPal is to cut 85 jobs in Ireland. The financial...

Lidl gives a kickstart to 48 Irish producers

Lidl Ireland is giving a 'Kickstart' to a new...

Crunch relegation decider in Belfastpublished at 13:34

Antrim v Carlow, 14:00, Corrigan Park

It’s a gloomy afternoon in Corrigan Park, but the outlook will be so much brighter for Antrim or Carlow a little later as they are battling for their Leinster SHC lives in this make-or-break fixture.

Both teams have had their moments in this year’s competition with Antrim getting the better of Wexford in round two, while Carlow claimed a draw against Kilkenny a fortnight later.

But it’s all about today for these teams with the winner avoiding the drop to the Joe McDonagh Cup, while a draw would actually be enough for Antrim.

Darren Gleeson has been forced into a couple of changes from last week’s defeat to Carlow with Rory McCloskey replacing the suspended Ryan McGarry, while Conal Cunning is back in the starting line-up having missed last week due to injury.

Eoghan Campbell is passed fit to start but Conal Bohill misses out due to a hamstring injury picked up last Saturday. His absence prompts a reshuffle with Conor McCann starting in the attack.

Carlow make three changes from the team that is listed with Niall Boland, Paddy Boland and James Doyle replacing Conor Lawlor, Richard Coady and Jake Doyle

It promises to be a nervy afternoon for all with so much riding on the outcome of the 70-plus minutes.

ANTRIM: R Elliott; C Boyd, R McCloskey, P Burke; G Walsh, N O’Connor, E Campbell; M Bradley, K Molloy; N Elliott, J McNaughton, N McKenna; C Cunning, C McCann, S Elliott.

CARLOW: B Tracey; P Doyle, D Wall, N Boland; J Kavanagh, K McDonald, T Lawlor; J McCullagh, P Boland; C Nolan, C Whelan, M Kavanagh; C Kehoe, JM Nolan, James Doyle.

REFEREE: J Owens (Wexford)

Image source, BBC Sport
Image caption,

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories